Florida Property Taxes
Overview of Florida Property Taxes
Property taxes are taxes owners of real estate pay annually based on their property's value. They are set by local assessor’s offices and usually collected by the local treasurer’s office. The State of Florida and all other Florida local governments collect a total of $156 billion in revenue every year. Of that, $27 billion comes from property taxes, or 17.9% of total revenue. Florida's property tax rate sits at 0.98%, which is marginally lower than the national average of 1.08%.
The average home value in Florida is $216,662 and homeowners pay an average of $2,330 in property taxes. In other words, a typical homeowner in Florida pays 1.08% of their home value in property taxes, or $10.75 for every $1,000 in home value. However, the amount of taxes varies from county to county.
Florida property taxes are the main source of revenue collected by local governments. The money is used to run the affairs of many public services across the state. They include law enforcement, recreational services, garbage collection, municipal infrastructure, and protection services. Several authorities across the Sunshine State can levy property taxes and include school boards, municipalities, and special districts.
As is the cases across the country, property value and assessments in Florida are determined by the local tax assessor. The assessor’s office is responsible for assessing the value of all Florida property annually by January 1st. They review and implement the appropriate exemptions, classifications, and assessment reductions. Homeowners can then appeal property taxes if their property's value has been wrongly assessed. However, it is not possible to contest tax rates, which are determined by government policies.
If you are planning to buy a home in Florida and want to understand how much your property tax bill could potentially cost, check out our Florida Property Tax Tool to see what your bill would be.
Florida Property Tax Due Dates
When are property taxes due in Florida? Property taxes in the Sunshine State become due by November 1st. Property owners are expected to pay their taxes by March 31st. Due taxes become delinquent by April 1st. If the deadline falls on a weekend or holiday, it is pushed to the next business day. Residents who pay their Florida property taxes between November 1st and February 28th are given discounts on their tax bills. They receive a 4% discount on property taxes paid in November, 3% for December, 2% for January, and 1% for February.
Failure to comply with Florida's property tax due dates results in a 3% interest charge per month. Homeowners are required by law to know when taxes are due and pay in time. If you own property in Florida and don't receive a tax bill, it doesn't relieve you of paying the taxes and any additional interest that may have accrued. Florida property taxes can be paid in 5 installments from November 1st to March 31st. However, property owners who pay in installments lose potential discounts that apply to those who make full payments.
Florida property tax rate allows homeowners to make partial tax payments of not less than $100. Additionally, each partial payment must be accompanied by an extra $10 as a processing fee. The state only accepts partial payments for current tax bills. Delinquent property taxes can, therefore, not be paid partially. You can use TaxProper's search tool to determine if you are overpaying your property taxes.
Florida Property Tax Exemptions
The State of Florida offers several tax exemptions and other benefits to property owners to reduce property tax. The most common are the homestead exemption and senior exemption, which help thousands of property owners in Florida save money on property taxes. Below is a summary of these exemptions.
Florida Homestead Exemption
Homeowners in Florida who use them as their permanent residence or their dependents' permanent residence are eligible for a tax relief known as a homestead exemption. This exemption reduces the property's taxable value by up to $50,000. Of that, $25,000 applies to all Florida property taxes, including but not limited to school district taxes. The other exemption of up to $25,000 is dependent on the property's .assessed value. This exemption is not transferrable.
Florida Senior Citizens Exemption
The state offers another property tax benefit known as the senior exemption. Eligible homeowners save thousands of dollars each year in Florida property taxes. To qualify, at least one of the homeowners has to be 65 and above as of January 1st. Additionally, the "Household Adjusted Gross Income" for everyone residing on the property has to be within the state's statutory limits.
Other Florida property tax exemptions include a $500 relief for a surviving spouse married to a first responder killed in the line of duty. Floridians living with disabilities, such as visual impairments or users of wheelchairs, are eligible for tax relief of $500 and above depending on the nature of their disability. Service members who were on deployment during the tax year are eligible for an extra homestead exemption. The exact amount is dependent on the number of days the serviceman was deployed. More information regarding exemptions can be found on the Official Internet Site of Florida Legislature. Note that even if you qualify for an exemption, you are still subjected to Florida's property tax due dates.
How to Appeal Your Property Taxes in Florida
Property owners who feel their property's value has been wrongly assessed can appeal to lower the Florida property taxes by appealing their assessment. Around 30%-60% of properties in Florida are over assessed and appealing can potentially save homeowners hundreds and even thousands of dollars per year in property taxes.
Homeowners who disagree with their assessment can discuss the issue with the Property Appraiser's Office or submit an appeal to the county value adjustment board (VAB).
The process of appealing Florida property taxes varies across the state. However, it generally follows the steps outlined below from one county to the other.
- Obtain your assessment
- Determine if you are overassessed
- Complete forms needed to appeal
- File property tax appeal
- Prepare for hearing
- Attend hearing
- Appeal the decision
If you own property in Florida, you can use TaxProper to determine if you should appeal your property's assessed value and increase your chances of winning.
How to Appeal Your Property Taxes in Miami-Dade County
For a more detailed demonstration of the above steps, here is a breakdown of how you can appeal your property taxes in Miami-Dade, the most populous county in Florida.
Obtain your assessment
The Property Appraiser assesses residents of Miami-Dade County. If you are a property owner in Miami-Dade County, you can obtain your assessment by contacting the Property Appraiser's office. Due to the Covid-19, you now have to book an appointment to visit the office in person.
Determine if you are over-assessed
You can dispute the taxable value placed on your property by the Property Appraiser. You need to provide substantial evidence to show that the Property Appraiser over-assessed your property. The Miami-Dade Property Appraiser's website has instructions on how you can conduct a property search to determine the value of properties with a similar profile to yours.
Complete forms needed to appeal
Miami-Dade County residents can find assessment and valuation appeal forms in the Miami-Dade Property Appraiser's Office. The Miami-Dade's Clerk of Courts website also has details on how to file an appeal petition.
File property tax appeal
Property owners contesting their property's assessed value are required to submit a petition to the Value Adjustment Board (VAB) within 25 days of receiving the Property Appraiser's "Notice of Proposed Property Taxes." Appeal petition forms can be collected at the Property Appraiser's Office and the VAB.
Prepare for hearing
In Miami-Dade County, preparing for a hearing includes collecting evidence to support the claim of overassessment. This includes financial statements, comparable sales, and appraisal reports, among other forms of evidence. The evidence should be presented to the property appraiser 15 days before a petition hearing.
The taxpayer contesting the assessed value is required to attend the hearing. A Special Magistrate presides over the hearing and determines the case depending on the evidence provided. The county allows you to be represented by an attorney or professional agent.
Appeal the decision
Should the hearing have a negative outcome, the taxpayer should file another appeal with the Value Adjustment Board (VAB).
Property Tax Information for Florida Counties
The table below provides county-level information about how property taxes work in each Florida county.
Want to learn more? Click the county links to learn more about a specific Florida county.
|County||Average Home Value||Average Tax Bill||Bill per $1,000|
|Indian River County||$253,656||$2,405||$9.50|
|Palm Beach County||$298,990||$3,416||$11.40|
|St. Johns County||$308,190||$3,221||$10.40|
|St. Lucie County||$150,927||$2,081||$13.80|
|Santa Rosa County||$186,921||$1,601||$8.60|